CCN logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CCN Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • A current, CCN-specific passing score has not been verified from the American Correctional Association's public materials.
  • The 70% figure comes from a 2021 ACA general policy and is not confirmed as current CCN policy.
  • The posted CCN fee is $180 for members and $225 for nonmembers, with a $45 study packet plus shipping.
  • ACA publishes seven shared healthcare competencies, but no official CCN exam blueprint or weights were verified.

The Honest Answer: What Is the CCN Passing Score?

Most pages that rank for this search will hand you a single confident number. For the Certified Corrections Nurse credential, that confidence is not supported by the public record. After reviewing the American Correctional Association's current healthcare certification page, the healthcare certification application, and the general certification program pages, a current CCN-specific passing cut has not been verified. The same is true of the total number of questions, the scored versus unscored split, the time limit, the item format, and the published pass rate.

That may feel unsatisfying, but it is more useful than a fabricated figure. If you build your study plan around a number that turns out to belong to a different credential, or to an older ACA policy, you could misjudge how much preparation you need. This article lays out exactly what is known, what is not, and how to prepare sensibly in the gap.

Identity check: This article is about the Certified Corrections Nurse credential offered through the American Correctional Association (ACA). Several unrelated credentials share the CCN acronym. If you have seen a passing score, fee or exam date elsewhere, confirm it refers to the corrections nursing credential before relying on it. For background on the credential itself, see What Is CCN Certification?

Why a Verified Number Is Hard to Find

Several features of how ACA presents its healthcare certifications make a clean answer difficult:

  • No CCN-specific exam specification is published. The public healthcare page lists the Correctional Nurse credential and links to an application, but it does not publish the question count, time allowance or cut score for the CCN examination.
  • The program appears to be in transition. The current healthcare page links a CCN examination application, while newer general-program pages say the healthcare application is "coming soon" and describe a general prerequisite. That is a sign that intake rules are being reorganized, not evidence that the credential has been discontinued.
  • Third-party sites disagree with each other. Some commercial sources describe a 150-question, three-hour exam. That conflicts with the older ACA general policy described below, and neither is verified as current for the CCN.

When sources conflict and the issuer has not published the detail, the responsible position is to treat every unverified figure as provisional. If you want the broader context on difficulty and results, our guides on how hard the CCN exam is and the CCN pass rate take the same careful approach.

Where the 70% Figure Comes From and Why to Treat It Cautiously

If you have heard that the CCN requires 70%, there is a traceable origin. A historical 2021 ACA general certification policy described an examination of 200 multiple-choice questions, four hours, and a 70% passing standard. That is real language from ACA, which is why it circulates.

The problem is scope and age. That policy was a general ACA policy, not a statement specific to the Certified Corrections Nurse examination, and it dates from 2021. It has not been verified as the current CCN rule, and it should not be adopted as one. A general policy can differ from what an individual credential actually uses, and ACA's certification programs have been reorganizing.

How to use the 70% figure: Treat it as a historical reference point, not a target you can rely on. If you aim for well above 70% in your practice work, you leave yourself margin whether the real cut turns out to be lower, equal or higher. Do not stop studying because you consistently reach 70%.

Conflicting Claims About Question Counts and Time Limits

The table below separates what ACA's historical general policy says, what commercial sources claim, and what is actually confirmed for the CCN today. It exists to make the uncertainty visible, not to give you a number to memorize.

ItemHistorical ACA General Policy (2021)Commercial Third-Party ClaimsVerified Current CCN Status
Total questions200 multiple-choice150 questionsNot verified
Time limitFour hoursThree hoursNot verified
Passing standard70%Varies by siteNot verified
Scored vs. unscored itemsNot stated hereNot statedNot verified
Published pass rateNot statedUnsourced figures appearNot verified

The two sets of claims cannot both be right, and neither has been confirmed as current CCN policy. Until ACA publishes or confirms the specification, the safest planning assumption is a substantial, multiple-choice, knowledge-based assessment of the shared healthcare competencies, with details to be confirmed.

What Is Verified About the CCN Right Now

Plenty of useful, concrete information is confirmed from the issuer's public pages. Here is what you can rely on:

  • Issuer: The American Correctional Association, through its Office of Correctional Health.
  • Posted fee: $180 for ACA members and $225 for nonmembers, as shown on the healthcare application form that is named for 2025. The CCN study packet is $45 plus shipping.
  • Administration route: ACA on-site or conference administration, or an approved local proctor. An external testing vendor has not been verified.
  • Application contents: Role, education and experience details, an ethics declaration, and supervisor confirmation of satisfactory-or-better performance and good standing over the past year.
  • Renewal: The official healthcare page states a three-year renewal cycle with 60 recertification credits. Renewal fees and transition rules have not been verified.

For a fuller view of money matters, read the CCN certification cost breakdown, and for eligibility details see CCN requirements.

What "self-proctored" means here: In ACA's language, a self-proctored administration means another approved person proctors your exam. It does not mean you test alone at home. Whether the exam is open-book, whether a calculator is allowed, whether it is adaptive, and whether home-online delivery exists have not been verified, so do not assume any of those conditions.

How to Get a Definitive Answer From ACA

Because the program is in transition, the only reliable way to pin down the passing score is to ask the issuer directly. Before you pay a fee or lock in a test date, work through this checklist with ACA's Office of Correctional Health:

  1. Ask for the current CCN passing standard and whether it is a percentage, a scaled score or another method.
  2. Ask for the number of questions, how many are scored, and the time allowed.
  3. Ask which application is current. The healthcare page links a CCN application, but the newer general program says the healthcare application is coming soon.
  4. Ask whether the newer general prerequisite applies to you. The newer general program describes a general CCP prerequisite, and its applicability to the CCN needs ACA confirmation.
  5. Ask about the licensure and experience requirements in force now, since the full matrix has not been verified.
  6. Ask about testing routes and total cost, including any proctor or site charges, during the program transition.
  7. Ask about renewal fees and how recertification will work after the transition.

Key Takeaway

Get the passing standard, format and prerequisites in writing from ACA before you build a timeline. A confirmed answer from the issuer outweighs any figure you find on a third-party site, including this one.

If you are still deciding whether to pursue the credential at all, our ROI analysis of the CCN and the guide to CCN exam dates help frame the decision while you wait on answers.

Preparing Without a Confirmed Cut Score

An unknown cut score is not a reason to delay. It simply changes how you define "ready." Instead of aiming at a single threshold, aim for consistent, comfortable command of the content, because that protects you under any plausible cut score.

Define readiness by margin, not by a number

Rather than stopping when you reach 70% on a practice set, keep working until your performance is steady across every competency area and you can explain your reasoning, not only recognize the right option. That is a more durable measure of readiness than any single percentage.

Watch for weak spots, not just averages

Because no official weights were verified, you cannot safely skip any area on the assumption that it is lightly tested. The largest domain weight is unknown, so a broad, balanced preparation is the lower-risk path. Treat any practice-question allocation you see, including ours, as editorial rather than as a prediction of the real exam.

You can pressure-test your knowledge with the questions on the main practice test site, which organizes review by the shared competencies. Our overall approach is laid out in the CCN study guide.

The Seven Shared Competencies to Master

ACA publishes seven shared healthcare-program competencies that its healthcare certifications draw on. These are unweighted shared program preparation topics. They are not a verified CCN-specific examination outline, and they do not establish an official domain count for the CCN. Use them as the backbone of your preparation, applied to the staff nursing role of a Certified Corrections Nurse, and not to the distinct CCN/M nurse-manager credential.

Leadership

In a staff nursing context, this is about influence and accountability within a correctional team rather than formal management.

  • Communicating clinical concerns up the chain and across disciplines
  • Maintaining professional boundaries and ethical conduct in a custodial setting
  • Advocating for patient care needs without undermining facility operations

Health Care Standards

Understand how recognized correctional health standards shape daily practice and documentation.

  • How standards guide access to care, continuity and quality expectations
  • Documentation practices that demonstrate compliance
  • The role of nursing in meeting and evidencing standards

Performance Management

Focus on how quality and performance are monitored and improved at the point of care.

  • Quality improvement concepts applied to clinical workflows
  • Using data and incident review to identify problems
  • Your individual accountability for the quality of care delivered

Security

Correctional nursing is distinctive because clinical care happens inside a security environment.

  • Balancing patient care with safety and control requirements
  • Tool, medication and equipment accountability in a secure setting
  • Personal safety awareness and working alongside custody staff

Legal Issues

Know the legal framework that governs care for incarcerated patients.

  • Patient rights, informed consent and refusal of treatment in custody
  • Confidentiality and its limits in a correctional environment
  • Duty to provide care and the legal exposure around documentation

Health Care Delivery

This is the most clinically familiar area, but it is applied to correctional realities.

  • Intake screening, sick call and chronic care management
  • Medication administration and continuity of treatment
  • Urgent and emergency response within facility constraints

Current Trends In Correctional Health Care

Stay oriented to how the field is evolving so you can reason through newer scenarios.

  • Evolving approaches to behavioral health and substance use in custody
  • Public-health themes that intersect with correctional populations
  • Emerging expectations for quality and accountability

The bullets above are editorial study organization, not ACA-published subtopics. ACA does not publish detailed CCN-specific subtopics alongside the shared list. For a deeper treatment of each area, see the complete guide to the CCN exam domains.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Competencies

Because the specification is unconfirmed, a flexible plan that can absorb new information is better than a rigid one. The sequence below is editorial. It front-loads the areas that are most distinctive to corrections, where a general nursing background gives you the least head start, and saves clinical review for later when it largely reinforces what you already practice.

Week 1

Confirm the facts, then start with Legal Issues

  • Contact ACA to confirm the passing standard, format and prerequisites
  • Begin Legal Issues first, since custody-specific consent and confidentiality rules differ most from community nursing
Week 2

Security and Health Care Standards

  • Work through how clinical care and security requirements interact
  • Connect standards to the documentation habits that prove compliance
Week 3

Leadership and Performance Management

  • Study staff-level accountability, escalation and quality improvement
  • Keep the focus on the staff nursing role, not nurse-manager duties
Week 4

Health Care Delivery and Current Trends

  • Review clinical workflows, then close with emerging themes in the field
  • Finish with mixed practice across all seven areas and revisit your weakest competency

Adjust the length of this plan to your own experience and the date ACA confirms. If you want structured support, our CCN training overview and the one-page CCN cheat sheet can help you consolidate.

Fees, Proctoring and Logistics That Affect Your Plan

Even without a confirmed cut score, you can plan the practical side. The table below summarizes the verified logistics and flags what still needs confirmation.

TopicWhat Is VerifiedWhat Needs ACA Confirmation
Exam fee$180 member / $225 nonmember on the 2025-named healthcare formTotal cost and any route-specific charges during the transition
Study packet$45 plus shippingCurrent contents and availability
AdministrationACA on-site or conference, or an approved local proctorWhether other routes, including a testing vendor, exist
ApplicationRole, education and experience details, ethics declaration, supervisor confirmationFull licensure and experience matrix; applicability of the newer general prerequisite
RenewalThree-year cycle with 60 recertification creditsRenewal fee and transition rules

Plan early, because your supervisor must confirm satisfactory-or-better performance and good standing for the past year, and a local proctor arrangement may take time to set up. Once you have a confirmed date and route, our guide to CCN exam dates and deadlines will help you schedule backward from test day.

When you are ready to test your knowledge, the CCN practice questions let you check yourself across all seven competencies. We do not publish a timed-exam simulation, because the real timing and item format have not been verified and a simulation would imply specifics we cannot confirm.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the passing score for the Certified Corrections Nurse exam?

A current, CCN-specific passing score has not been verified from ACA's public materials. A historical 2021 ACA general policy referenced a 70% standard, but that is not confirmed as the current CCN rule. Contact ACA's Office of Correctional Health for the definitive figure.

Is the CCN exam 200 questions or 150 questions?

Neither figure is verified for the current CCN. A historical ACA general policy described 200 multiple-choice questions over four hours, while some commercial sources claim 150 questions over three hours. These conflict, so confirm the current format directly with ACA.

How much does it cost to take the CCN exam?

The posted fee on the healthcare application named for 2025 is $180 for ACA members and $225 for nonmembers. The study packet is $45 plus shipping. Confirm the total cost and available testing routes with ACA, since the program is in transition. See our cost breakdown for more.

Has ACA discontinued the CCN credential?

No discontinuation has been verified. The healthcare page lists the Correctional Nurse credential and links a CCN application, while newer general-program pages describe a different intake structure. That reflects a program transition, so confirm current intake and prerequisites with ACA.

Are the seven domains an official CCN exam blueprint?

No. Leadership, Health Care Standards, Performance Management, Security, Legal Issues, Health Care Delivery and Current Trends In Correctional Health Care are shared healthcare-program competencies published by ACA. They are unweighted preparation topics, not a verified CCN-specific outline. Read more in our domains guide.

Ready to pass your CCN exam?

Put this into practice with free CCN questions across every exam domain.